In the tree

GREEN, GREEN IS MY SISTER’S HOUSE

~Mary Oliver, A Thousand Mornings

Don’t you dare climb that tree

or even try, they said, or you will be

sent away to the hospital of the

very foolish, if not the other one.

And I suppose, considering my age,

it was fair advice.

But the tree is a sister to me, she

lives alone in a green cottage

high in the air and I knew what

would happen, she’d clap her green hands,

she’d shake her green hair, she’d

welcome me. Truly

I try to be good but sometimes

a person just has to break out and

act like the wild springy thing

one used to be. Its impossible not

to remember wild and want it back. So

if someday you can’t find me you might

look into that tree or- of course

it’s possible- under it.

20130912-150921.jpg

Auckland, with magnificent Rangitoto in the back

20130912-150936.jpg

Rainbow Beach, Queensland

20130912-150954.jpg

Inskip Point, Queensland

Leave a Reply

