on drawing

How amazing to discover, learn and explore a new ability or a new skill!! I have started this new drawing online course with Carla Sonheim – Draw! – and the first day assignment was to draw something unusual with your other hand, the non-dominant one! I was so skeptical of my ability to even do something presentable… and yet, what I discovered was a funky type of drawing, with interesting lines, which gave a real character to the subject.

What was even more fascinating to me was that trying to keep the looser line type while drawing with my good hand was not that easy. The result of the same subject drawn with my good hand was flat, a bit boring, less interesting.

Perhaps I should always draw with my wrong hand.

20140419-093051.jpg

20140419-093109.jpg

and then Haiku way drawing, seven lines only…

20140419-093131.jpg

20140419-093143.jpg

and blind drawing…

20140419-093153.jpg

Love this!

and furthermore, this is a great learning… when you are so sure of not being able to do something, do it anyway…and see what happens!

One thought on “on drawing

Leave a Reply

