limits

I know I have written about this before but it hit me again..

Through my creative experiments and learning, I’d like to think that I am always spontaneous, embracing things, learning from opportunities…
But clearly this is not true.

Learning new skills pushes us around, isn’t it? and as much as we want to learn, we also put boundaries, consciously or unconsciously, by fear of the unknown, by fear of meeting our own limits, our own flaws…

This concept can be applied in therapy as well.. I hear times to times clients who are crying for help but refusing to do the leap…terrified by the unknown, by what they could discover about themselves or by fear of seeing their protective walls falling apart. Sadly we won’t know what lives behind those walls until we decide to let them go.

Why am I rambling about this? with the start of Misty Mawn new online art class, I got to meet face to face with some of my limits again, the ones that I am putting to myself…and as much as it annoys me, it keeps happening… I feel a multitude of paintings within myself waiting to be created and yet, I feel blocked by my fear of failing, of not knowing how, judging my limited skills and so on…

This paradox won’t sustain as my desire to create is larger than my fear…but how do we push ourselves when we are stuck…what do you do when you feel yourself caught in this limbo? what strategies worked? How nice would it be to paint like a child, without expectation, being in the moment, fully embracing what is in front of us..

It reminds me this quote i read on Lisa Sonora‘s blog…paint like a dog goes after a bone.

So that’s what I will do…

Leave a Reply

